|#1zombiegleemaxJan 28, 2004 22:21:12||according to the DLCS, Minotaurs receive a +4 to their strength scores. I seem to recall something about a 1st level character only being allowed a maximum of 20 for any given ability score. Does this mean that a player who rolled an 18 would still only have a strength score of 20? am i just imagining this rule? i am confused.|
|#2The_White_SorcererJan 28, 2004 22:28:26||When using the standard PHB races, 20 is indeed the first level maximum. Otherwise, there isn't such limit. A minotaur PC who has a natural 18 in Str would have a total Str score of 22.|
|#3zombiegleemaxJan 29, 2004 12:45:06||thanks!|
|#4zombiegleemaxJan 29, 2004 16:32:33||I dont think that a maximum of 20 is a rule it is more of a fct that the strongest PHB race gets a +2 maximum on a stat and thus has a maximum of 20 on a stat.|
ie..Orc PrC at lvl 1 who rolled an 18 for strength would have a 22 str at lvl 1 just like a Minotaur.
|#5zombiegleemaxFeb 03, 2004 13:17:07||what about ogres? do they really get a +10 as the DLCS states? If so any idea what the rationale is behind it?|
|#6cam_banksFeb 03, 2004 13:21:27|
Originally posted by kendernbabe
Check out the ogre's entry in the Monster Manual. It's the same there as it is in the DLCS, as they're the same race. Ogres are strong.
|#7ferratusFeb 03, 2004 13:24:30||+6 ECL (Effective character level) means that the party has more levels to gain before an Ogre can be played as a character. So an 1st level Ogre fighter can only join the party if everyone else is 7th level.|
That is the balance.