|#1XIIIMar 25, 2004 0:35:24||Ok, first of all, my first language is French, which results in sometime not understanding some rulings...|
Second : I have a player who wanted to create an Ogre PC (thats fine with my game) so we read it, and came upon this:
Level Adjustment : +2. An Ogre had effective character level (ECL) of 6 + his class levels. Ogre are more powerful....
I am lost!!
As i read it : An Ogre Barbarian lv 2 is considered lv 4 (+2) But gain his XP as if he was lv 8? (ECL 6 +2) ?? So a level 2 Ogre Barbarian as 28K xp and need 36K to get level 3?
Am i right? i read in the DMG, PHB, MM... still sounds weird to me.
Anybody can help me with this?
|#2daedavias_dupMar 25, 2004 0:48:02||You have to figure in the ogre's 4 hit dice. Effectively, the ogre has 4 levels of giant to start with.|
|#3iltharanosMar 25, 2004 10:24:15|
Originally posted by XIII
An ogre has ECL (effective character level) = Racial HD (4) + Class Levels + Level Adjustment (+2), for a total starting ECL of 6.
So an Ogre with 2 levels of the Class Barbarian would be ECL 8.
ECL is used to determine XP and wealth.
Character Level = Racial HD + Class Levels. Character Level is used for everything other than XP and Wealth, such as feats gained, ability score increases, etc.