Atlas   Rules   Resources   Adventures   Stories       FAQ   Search   Links

Esterhold (Republic of)

by Hervé Musseau

Location: Continent of Skothar, west of the Jennite Lands, northwest of Minaea.

Capital: None. Capital of Anchorage: Anchorage (population 5,000), capital of Blackrock: Skyfyr (population 15,000), Capital of Marlin: Port Marlin (population 10,000), capital of Southrock: Rock Harbour (population 5,000), capital of Verdan: Faraway (population 35,000).

Area: 1,000,000 sq. mi.

Population: 240,000.

Language: Alphatian, Jennite.

Coinage: Alphatian Standard.

Taxes: Each governor of a province imposes the standard 15% income tax on everyone and an import tax of 1% (this tax only concerns goods coming from outside the Confederation and does not concern goods from Karameikos due to a trade agreement between that nation and the Confederation), and the president imposes the same tax on people of the territories that do not fall under the jurisdiction of any province. None of it goes to the Imperial Treasury to help the country recover from the wars, and the republic even receives money and troops from the Council.

Government type: Republic composed of semiautonomous provinces owing loyalty to the New Alphatian Confederate Empire since Yarthmont 23, AC1013.

Industries, Description, Notable Sites, History, Flora and Fauna: See the PWAs.

Important Figures: Favian Vern (President of Esterhold), Seward Alska (Governor of Anchorage), Kalin (Governor of Blackrock), Alinda (Governor of Marlin), Darik Rockroll (Governor of Southrock), Talin (Governor of Verdan). There is no general yet; the Republic is still under the direct military control of Commander Broderick until the elections.

Updates for the years 1013 and 1014 AC: When the Alphatian Council had to decide about the future of Verdan, King Favian of Blackrock came up with an interesting, though unusual, alternative: He proposed to regroup all of the territories of the Esterhold Peninsula into a single state, the Republic of Esterhold, which would be governed by an elected ruler. It would be composed of provinces, each with an elected governor, who elect the president. Elections could occur every six years; when there is a tie for the naming of the president, the Council decides. The governor would be the ruler of his own province, and the president would decide on matters concerning the republic as a whole, or for events involving more than one province, the Council or territories outside the provinces.
The Alphatian Council approved King Favian's proposition. Thus the Peninsula became the Republic of Esterhold, with a full seat at the Council. It is composed of five provinces: The Province of Anchorage (provincial capital: Anchorage), the Province of Blackrock (provincial capital: Skyfyr), the Province of Marlin (provincial capital: Port Marlin), the Province of Southrock (provincial capital: Rock Harbour), and the Province of Verdan (provincial capital: Faraway). The central region, composed mainly of desert, broken lands and other badlands, is under the direct administration of the President. Favian Vern was named President of Esterhold until elections can be organized, i.e. until the situation is stabilised. He has appointed temporary governors until the elections; two of them are Jennites who were leaders of the rebels, while the other three are of Alphatian descent-in fact they were the mayors of the cities which are now capitals of the provinces.

See Also: DotE, PWAs (esp. PWA3 for latest information), nace, nace1314, blackroc, verdan.