Atlas   Rules   Resources   Adventures   Stories       FAQ   Search   Links

Westrourke (Exarchate of)

Location: Northern section of the Isle of Dawn, south of Helskir, east of the province of Dunadale and north of the province of Redstone. SD

Area: 119,344 sq. mi. (309,100 sq. mi.).

Population: 77,300, including 25,900 in the capital of Newkirk.

Languages: Thyatian (Thyatian and Redstone dialect both common), Alphatian (Hillvale dialect).

Coinage: Thyatian Standard: emperor (pp), lucin (gp), justiciar (ep), asterius (sp), denarius (cp). Alphatian Standard also very common: crown (gp), mirror (sp), judge (cp).

Taxes: 25% income tax collected quarterly on the aristocracy, nobility, and wealthy; 20% income tax collected quarterly on everyone else (Va. 1, Ya. 1, Fy. 3, and Ei. 1). Thyatians abroad must still pay their taxes. Expensive and magical items are also taxed 25% of their worth. 10% imperial commercia sales tax on all goods except food, clothing, and fixed assets; levied on imports, rebated on exports. Tax on slave owning equal to 50% of the slave's value annually. Property tax levied based on quality of land, roughly 6% of its value annually.

Government Type: Dominion, member of the Thyatian Empire with home-rule.

Industries: Military, salt mining, agriculture (truck vegetables).

Important Figures: Thrainkell Firestorm (Exarch), Holva Firestorm (Exarcha).

Flora and Fauna: Standard for its climate, notably herds of sheep and goats. Dangerous monsters include goblinoids and bandits that are common throughout the Isle of Dawn.

Further Reading: M5 Talons of Night, Dawn of the Emperors boxed set, previous almanacs.

Last Year's Events: None to report.